Engaging in RATCLIFF's Holistic Approach to Enduring Civic Architecture

Architecture inspires us primarily because of the opportunity it holds to interact with others in a meaningful way, and civic architecture can create a ripple effect of pride throughout the community. Honored to work with local governments to cultivate consensus and ensure the enduring value of each civic commission, RATCLIFF designs city halls, community centers, fire stations, police facilities, libraries, parks, operation service centers and recreational facilities. Balancing the design, management and technical requirements of each civic project, RATCLIFF employs an operations-based approach to design and programming to secure the value and adaptability of civic structures for their communities and well into the future.


  • Citywide Facility Master Planning
  • Site Assessment & Selection
  • Community Outreach & Consensus Building
  • Architecture


Kit Ratcliff
Dan Wetherell
William Blessing

Kit Ratcliff, FAIA, NCARB, LEED AP


B. Architecture, cum laude, University of California, Berkeley, 1968

Licensed Architect, California, #C-8321, 1975

(510) 899-6444

Dan Wetherell, AIA

Principal, Business Development - Civic Practice Area

M. Architecture, University of California, Berkeley, 1984
B. Environmental Design, University of California, Berkeley, 1982

Licensed Architect, California, #C-18257, 1987

(510) 899-6467

William Blessing, LEED AP

Principal, Project Designer

Graduate Studies in Architecture, University of California, Berkeley, 1983

B.S. Architecture, magna cum laude, Lawrence Institute of Technology, 1978
Registered Architect, California, #C-16988, 1986

(510) 899-6440

Client List

  • Administrative Office of the Courts
  • All Saints Church
  • All Souls Church
  • Berkeley Housing Authority
  • California Administrative Office of the Courts
  • California Department of Transportation
  • Catholic Diocese of Northern California
  • City of Alameda
  • City of Berkeley
  • City of Chico
  • City of Emeryville
  • City of Fremont
  • City of Gilroy
  • City of Long Beach
  • City of Modesto
  • City of Morgan Hill
  • City of Oakland
  • City of Pinole
  • City of San Francisco
  • City of San Mateo
  • City of San Pablo
  • City of Santa Rosa
  • City of Visalia
  • City of Yuba City
  • Community Youth Center
  • Contra Costa County
  • Cosumnes Community Services District
  • County of Alameda
  • County of San Mateo
  • County of Santa Clara
  • Department of General Services
  • Department of Veterans Affairs
  • East Bay Municipal Utility District
  • East Bay Regional Park District
  • Emeryville Redevelopment Agency
  • First Congregational Church of Berkeley
  • First Presbyterian Church of Berkeley
  • First Unitarian Church of Oakland
  • General Services Administration
  • H.J. Kaiser Convention Center
  • Holly Community Center
  • Lafayette Orinda Presbyterian Church
  • Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Marin Evangelical Covenant Church
  • Menlo Park Fire Protection District
  • Metropolitan Transportation Center
  • Napa Valley Cultural Museum
  • Oakland Housing Authority
  • Our Saviors Lutheran Church
  • Pittsburg Housing and Economic Development Corporation
  • Port of Oakland
  • Regional Administrative Facility Corporation
  • Robert Mondavi Winery
  • Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Agency
  • San Joaquin County Housing Authority
  • St. Francis Center
  • St. Joseph\'s Catholic Church
  • St. Patricks Seminary and University
  • St. Perpetua Church
  • St. Raymond Church
  • State of California
  • Town of Colma
  • Trinity United Methodist Church
  • US Army Corps of Engineers
  • US Bankruptcy Court
  • US Department of Agriculture ARS FD FCB
  • US Department of Justice
  • US General Services Administration
  • US Navy Western Division
  • US Postal Service
  • Walnut Creek Presbyterian Church